Bayern Munich forward Sadio Mane has been crowned African Footballer of the Year for the second time

Sadio Mane of Bayern Munich was named African Footballer of the Year on Thursday, beating out Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah and Chelsea’s Edouard Mendy.

The 30-year-old Senegalese international received the prestigious award at an awards ceremony on Thursday. Mane won the award ahead of former Liverpool teammate Mohamed Salah and Chelsea goalkeeper Edouard Mendy.


Last season, Mane scored 23 goals for Liverpool, helping them win the FA Cup and EFL Cup. The Reds also reached the Champions League final, losing 1-0 to Real Madrid, and finished just one point behind Premier League champions Manchester City.

At international level, Mane inspired Senegal to glory in the Africa Cup of Nations in February. He scored the winning spot-kick as his nation defeated Salah’s Egypt on penalties in the final. Mane scored three goals during the tournament, one more than Salah.


Mane received praise from the Bayern Munich managemnt after scooping the prestigious award

Congratulations to Sadio Mane on once again being named Africa’s Player of the Year

Bayern president Herbert Haine

He’s an absolutely exceptional player and above all a great person, who’s a wonderful ambassador for his homeland Senegal, for the whole of football, as well as for FC Bayern and the whole Bundesliga


We’re delighted about Sadio Mane’s award. FC Bayern has never before in its long history had an African Player of the Year in its ranks. This is a special honour for our club. We’re very proud that he now plays for this club and we have a lot of big goals with him

Bayern CEO Oliver Khan

It was a great evening for Senegal as they also claimed the men’s National Team of the Year award and manager Aliou Cisse was named the men’s Coach of the Year. South Africa boss Desiree Ellis claimed the women’s Coach of the Year gong.

Senegalese winger Pape Ousmane Sakho won the Goal of the Year prize for scoring a stunning overhead kick, while Moroccan side Wydad Athletic Club (men’s) and South Africa team Mamelodi Sundowns (women’s) were named the Clubs of the Year.

CAF also handed out an ‘Interclub’ Player of the Year award to Egypt goalkeeper Mohamed El Shenawy (men’s) and Ghana midfielder Evelyn Badu (women’s). The latter was also named the women’s Young Player of the Year.


Source The Mirror

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

You might also like

Leave your thoughts : Please note that The Harare Voice will remove any inappropriate comments without notifying the user